Soda is of the Devil

I know that’s probably a bit harsh, but to me, it’s total truth. Chris Rock says, “Actually, I think all addiction starts with soda. Every junkie did soda first. But no one counts that. Maybe they should. The soda connection is clear. Why isn’t a presidential commission looking into this? Or at least some guys from the National Carbonation Council.” Now, I’m not one to look to Chris Rock for advice, but I think he may have a point there.

Changing my lifestyle to one that’s more healthy, soda is a stumbling block for me. When I drink a soda, I don’t want to drink water. In comparison, water is just a bland wetness to soda’s sweet fizzy smoothness. When I just drink water, no soda, then water is lovely and refreshing and quenches my thirst. Once I have a soda, water just doesn’t do the job.

At this point I have to admit that I have a certain addiction to Frostop Root Beer. You can often find me at Greg’s with my boys getting one out of the cooler in front after I let my little guys pick out a treat from the candy aisle. It’s the best root beer I’ve ever tasted and am still impressed by its inexplicable smoothness (and it’s only 99¢!). But this isn’t a commercial for root beer. I do, however, believe in everything in moderation. Ijust have trouble with the follow through, but I digress…

You can buy a 24 pack of Coca Cola for around $10. You can buy a 20 pack of cigarette’s for around $6. No comparison, you say? Depends…

There are some people, many that I’m related to, that would go without food before they would go without soda or cigarettes. That speaks volumes if you ask me.

Ok, so off my kick there. Soda is not good for you. It makes me feel like crap. I’ve tried to switch to just about everything just because I wanted to continue to drink soda. They ALL made me feel like crap, including my wonderful Frostop Root Beer. So, in my household, we switched to drinking, for the most part, only water. Soda is a treat and is treated as such. In cutting soda from our diets, we also cut $20 from our grocery budget a week. $20! That’s one fifth of my current grocery budget. That’s crazy!

Do you hate your tap water? No big, we do too. Our water has so much sulfur in it, even with treatment, that I almost can’t stand brushing my teeth with the stuff. Our solution was to get a water cooler and have water delivered to our house once a month. Does this cost? Yes, it does. The cost of our water per month is $40, which is half of what we spent on soda. So we still have $40 in our pocket a month.

Sounds like another purse in my future! :)

 

Please check out my new articles on budget grocery shopping at Examiner.com. And don’t forget to find me at The Bluffton Icon!

Leave a Reply

